Dead on Arrival


“Death to Videodrome, long live the new flesh”
-Max Renn

The original idea for the-videodrome was to review things as a way to understand Videodrome better. I planned to take themes in movies and compare them to themes in Videodrome, thus making the site a massive review of Videodrome. Unfortunately as time went on I had less things to say about Videodrome, and after rewatching it my understanding shifted. I still really enjoy it, but my enthusiasm has waned. Initially I thought people seeing my site while searching for Videodrome would be great, but as I came up with review ideas I started to notice a pattern of deviancy that I feared would harm Videodrome. It’s kind of an arrogant thought, but if this site does ever take off I don’t want it to hurt how people feel towards something I cherish. I’m sure Max wouldn’t object to the type of content I want to post, but I don’t want to be the guy who ruined Videodrome. I also had a hard time thinking of what to post because I was scared it wouldn’t meet the standards to warrant being associated with Videodrome. Not only did I have my own standards, but I was forced to judge it as something that would be associated with Videodrome. the-videodrome was also a contaminated name. I wanted the site to be seperated from my real life, as proof that I could acomplish something without external influence but I sent the url to friends potentially ruining that wall.

So for these reasons I had to cut the name loose.

I really like the way Videodrome sounds, and the mental image it provides. An arena of video. Almost giving the impression of being trapped in video. I started thinking of another name and I remembered this idea I had for an art assignment where it would be me inside of a fort made out of various pieces of media. So I built off of that and came to Cathode Castle. I like it because there’s a touch of retro, and it gives the impression of being surrounded by screens, which is cool. Alliteration is fun too.

Anyways, hopefully with this new change I will have less reservations about posting, and maybe I’ll finally post things. I have ideas, just need to force myself into it. Going to shoot for a post a week, but who knows.